Final proposal

The Council's final representation proposal comprises 14 councillors and five constituencies, as shown in the table below. This differs from the Council's initial proposal in that the Kapiti-Mana constituency is now called the Porirua and Kapiti constituency, and the Hutt Valley constituency is now separated into two constituencies – Upper Hutt and Lower Hutt.

Constituency name	Constituency boundary	Number of members	Population per member*
Wellington constituency	Based on the current boundary of the Wellington City Council	5 elected members	37,040
Upper Hutt constituency	Based on the current boundary of the Upper Hutt City Council	1 elected member	37,900
Lower Hutt constituency	Based on the current boundary of the Hutt City Council	3 elected members	33,500
Porirua and Kapiti constituency	Based on joining the current boundaries of the Kapiti Coast District Council and Porirua City Council	3 elected members	32,500
Wairarapa constituency	Based on joining the current boundaries of South Wairarapa District Council, Carterton District Council and Masterton District Council, and the area of the Tararua District Council that is just South of the Owahanga River catchment	2 elected members	19,650

Table with population figures

*These population figures may be slightly different from the population figures used in maps in officer reports on the final representation arrangement. This is because the population data used for the maps in officers reports are based on the 2005 estimates of territorial authorities and the above population data, which was certified by the Government Statistician, is based on region council boundaries which include people living in coastal marine areas e.g. on boats.

Three constituencies depart from the population formula set out in the Local Electoral Act 2001, when the second member is added to the Wairarapa constituency. Wairarapa is over-represented by 40.2%, Wellington is under-represented by 12.6% and Upper Hutt is under-represented by 15.2% when compared with the average population per member. This means that the Council's proposal must be forwarded to the Local Government Commission for their determination, regardless of whether or not any objections or appeals are received.